RISE Members Gather, Connect for 32nd Annual Meeting in Georgia


ARILINGTON, Va. — RISE (Responsible Industry for a Sound Environment) members gathered for the association’s 32nd annual meeting on shoreline property of Lake Oconee, Ga.

More than 150 attendees met for three days to actualize the five-year strategic plan goals of collaborating, engaging and convening as an industry that serves as the voice of specialty pesticides and fertilizers.

Attendees included RISE members who are manufacturers, formulators and distributors of specialty pesticides used in public health, aquatics, consumer, forestry, nursery & greenhouse, structural pest control, turf and ornamental and vegetation management.

The theme of the meeting was Gather, Connect, RISE with Megan Provost, RISE President, emphasizing that joining together as an industry was key to advocacy success.

“We speak as the voice of our industry and advocate for regulatory and legislative certainty,” Provost told annual meeting attendees. “We work to help you be better advocates and spokespeople for our industry.”

Connecting Through Speakers and Panels

RISE hosted two keynote panels. The first in which leaders from partner associations in pest management, golf, and landscape joined Provost to share what the industry can do to speak with a unified voice.

The second panel discussion featured top industry communicators who discussed how to implement messaging using RISE public opinion research.

The keynote speaker was Timothy Caulfield from the University of Alberta, Canada, a communicator, professor, and scientific researcher who debunks myths and assumptions about innovation for the benefit of the public and decision-makers.

Recognizing Board Members and Committee Chairs

The RISE Governing Board elected two new members, Steven Farrington, Gowan Company, and Jeff Bunting, GROWMARK, Inc.

The Board’s 2023 Executive Committee is:

o Karen Larson, Chair, Clarke

o Jose Milan, Vice Chair, Bayer Environmental Science

o Blaine Pinkerton, Treasurer, Nufarm Americas

Also continuing their terms on the 2022-23 Governing Board are:

o Barbara Aguiar, BASF

o Kathy Bishop, Lebanon Seaboard Corporation

o Bill Culpepper, SePRO Corporation

o John Johnson, Prokoz, Inc.

o Todd Mason, Sipcam Agro USA

o Scott Reasons, Syngenta

o Nadia Sinno, FMC Corporation

o Shayne Wetherall, AMGUARD Environmental Technologies

Completing their terms on the Governing Board are Daryl Allen, Corteva Agriscience, and Brian Rowan, SiteOne Landscape Supply.

RISE Members, Others Honored with Awards

RISE members and other industry leaders were honored with awards. The recipient of the 2022 E. Allen James Leadership Award was Wendell Codner, FMC Business Manager of Global Consumer Solutions and past Chair of the Strategic Oversight Council.


Wendell Codner, FMC, is recipient of the 2022 E. Allen James Leadership Award. Pictured from left is RISE Governing Board Chair Karen Larson, Clarke; Wendell Codner; Board Vice Chair Jose Milan, Bayer; and Board Treasurer Blaine Pinkerton, Nufarm.

RISE’s most distinguished volunteer honor named for its first president recognizes exemplary leadership and outstanding contributions to the specialty pesticide and fertilizer industry and to RISE.

“Since joining RISE, Wendell has been an active member on our committees,” said Provost. “He’s helped attract and retain members and provided input to deliver the best possible programs for our members. He has been proactive in stewarding RISE activities and thinks about our industry first.”

The 2022 RISE Grassroots Excellence Award was given to two honorees this year, Matthew Johnson, President of Aquatic Control, for his federal grassroots work, and Pete Gorman, Chair of the Connecticut Environmental Council, for his work in the state.

Created in 2012, the RISE Grassroots Excellence Award is presented annually to an individual, group or allied association that demonstrates outstanding effort and contributions to furthering the mission, vision and goals of the specialty pesticide and fertilizer industry’s public policy advocacy through grassroots.

The 2022 Strategic Driver Award, recognizing the work of RISE volunteer leaders and their impact of helping RISE achieve its strategic plan’s mission and vision, was awarded to:

o Julie Schlekau, Valent Senior Manager, Label and State Affairs Group and Vice Chair of our Regulatory Affairs Committee, for her role in advancing our regulatory advocacy, particularly helping reauthorize the Pesticide Registration Improvement Act (PRIA 5).

o Dillon Gabbert, Bayer State Regulatory Engagement Manager, for his engagement with the RISE team to drive strategy and engagement on regulatory advocacy.

RISE founding member, long-time volunteer leader and Governing Board member Bill Culpepper, SePRO Founder/Chairman, was recognized for his 31 years of service to the association during his last RISE Annual Meeting before retirement. RISE leaders shared their sentiments and best wishes in a video and Bill was gifted a set of RISE pickleball paddles.


RISE founding member, long-time volunteer leader and Governing Board member Bill Culpepper, SePRO Founder/Chairman, was gifted a pair of pickleball paddles in recognition of his upcoming retirement. He’s pictured with RISE President Megan Provost (left) and RISE Governing Board Chair Karen Larson, Clarke.


Leave a Comment

Related Post

Pest Control News

Pest News South Florida

Latest Posts